Creation of the Brighton Borough Council
Until 1854 the local government of Brighton was in the hands of the vestry and the improvement commissioners. The latter were established under the Brighton Town Act of 1773 and had control over the streets, sea defences, markets, taxing coal and controlling nuisances.
      Brighton was granted its first charter of incorporation. The town was divided into six and the council comprised a mayor with two aldermen and six councillors from each of six wards. The aldermen were elected by the councillors, who in turn were elected by burgesses (persons eligible to vote—see definition below). Two members stood down each year in turn. A seventh ward, Preston, was added in 1873 as the borough expanded. On 1 April 1889 Brighton became a county borough.
      The population continued to grow—by 50 per cent between 1851 and 1881—so in 1894 the number of wards was doubled to 14, each with three councillors, who again served for three years and stood down on a rotating basis. When the newly-developing South Moulsecoomb housing estate was annexed from Patcham under the Brighton (Extension) Order 1923 it was added to Preston ward.

Hove, Aldrington and Portslade
Prior to the Hove Commissioners Act 1873 administration in Hove rested with the Brunswick Square and Terrace [Brunswick Town] Commission, established under the Brunswick Square and Brunswick Terrace Improvement Act 1830 adn extnded in 1851. The Hove Improvement Act 1858 created the West Hove Improvement Commissioners to cover the non-Brunswick parts of th parish.
      A new board of Commissioners was established by the 1873 Act, with six wards: Adelaide and Bruswick (nine commissioners each), Medina (six), St John's, Stanford and Ventnor (three each). These wards remained the same, although the numbers of councillors from each increased as the town grew.
      The Hove Commissioners became an Urban District Council in 1894, absorbing Aldrington—which had successfully resisted annexation by Hove in 1877—and four years later the town was incorporated as a borough.

      Meanwhile, Steyning East Rural District Council was created in 1894 and included parishes across the north of the area from Portlade to Patcham. In 1898 Portslade was divided, the southern part becoming Portslade-by-Sea UDC, to which the northern part was added in 1928.

Greater Brighton and bigger Hove
The Brighton Corporation Act 1927 enlarged the town boundaries, effecive from 1928, to absorb West Blatchington and the rest of Patcham from Steyning East Rural District Council, Ovingdean and Rottingdean from Newhaven RDC and Coldean from Chailey RDC. The already much-enlarged Preston ward was split into four in 1928 and two new wards were added for the areas to the north, bringing the total to 19.
      At the same time the parishes of Preston Rural and Hangleton with parts of Patcham and West Blatchington were added to Hove. Part of the aprish of Stanmer and the rest of Falmer were brought into the borough of Brighton in 1952 under the Brighton Extension Act 1951.
      The Local Government Act 1972 transferred much of the town's authority and responsibilities—education, social services, libraries, planning, fire services, parks and recreation, environmental health and refuse collection—to East Sussex County Council and abolished the role of alderman, leaving a Brighton council of 59 members. The town had 21 councty councillors, reduced to 16 in 1983. Brighton consequently lost its county borough status when a new charter of incorporation was granted in 1974.
      The number of members of Brighton borough council was reduced to 56 in 1979 and four years later the number of wards was reduced to 16 with 48 councillors.

Unitary authority and city status
In 1997 the boroughs of Brighton and Hove were amalgamated as a unitary authority, regaining the powers that had been taken by East Sussex and in 2001 the City of Brighton and Hove was created, divided into 21 wards, represented by 54 councillors.

The lists of wards are here.

BURGESSES.—A person shall not be deemed a burgess unless he is enrolled as a burgess, and a person shall not be entitled to be enrolled as a burgess unless he is qualified as follows:— (a) Is of full age; (b) Is on the fifteenth of July in any year, and has been during the whole of the then last preceding 12 months in occupation of any land or tenement of the clear yearly value of not less than £10, or of any house, warehouse, counting house, shop, or other building in the borough, and has during the whole of those 12 months resided in the borough, or within 7 miles thereof, and has been rated in respect of the qualifying property to all poor rates made during those 12 months for the parish wherein the property is situate, and has before the twentieth of July paid all rates, including borough rates, as have become payable by him in respect of the qualifying property up to the then last preceding fifth of January. A person is disqualified from being a burgess if he is an alien, or has within the twelve months aforesaid received parish relief other than medical relief.
D B Friend & Co's Year Book 1897

UK parliamentary elections
From 1265
Knights of the Shire
From 1832 to 2010
              Brighton Kemptown
              Brighton Pavilion

European elections

Local council elections

Police and Crime Commissioner

Sunday cinema opening, European Union membership, Elected mayor, Alternative vote, Council tax, Brexit


Page created 18 March 2021