| Gem Electric Cinema

The Gem Electric Cinema staff: the lady from the box office, the projectionist in shirt sleeves and the commissionaire who, even at such a small cinema, wears a smart uniform.
|
|
36a London Road, Brighton
operated 1910-1914
1910 July Opened in a former furnishing store by J W Thompson, 60 seats on wooden benches—a typical 'penny gaff' operation. Admission 2d, 3d, children 1d, 2d. The projector is mounted on a table at the back of the auditorium and film spools into a cardboard box on the floor.
1914 The manager is W Denyer.
1914 Taken over by Harry Scriven (see Empire Picture Theatre, Hove) but soon closes.
• In 1915 it was run by Jack Sheppard as a concert hall. It was later a Freeman Hardy & Willis shoe shop and is currently part of a branch of a betting shop chain.
Brighton cinema directory
< Previous | Next >
Return to previous page
|